063blog

Ten years ago today, my wife and I stood at the front of a small church in Concord, NC and committed our lives to one another publicly, before God and our community of friends and family. I couldn’t imagine the last ten years of my life without her. Seriously. Life would not be the same. So today, in honor of ten fantastic years with my bride and best friend, I give you ten things that I love about my wife.

  1. Her joy. It’s constant. It never changes. Even in the midst of difficult seasons in our life when we’ve encountered death or other hardships, her joy has never decreased, only increased. That comes from her hope that is anchored on the other side. It spurs me and reminds me of the beauty of the gospel.
  2. She’s competitive. I love that about her, because I’m competitive as well. It’s healthy and balanced, but still evident none the less. For ten years she’s tried to beat me at tennis and has yet to win, but she keeps on challenging me to matches….and still thinks she can win! C’mon man! (I’m hoping for another decade of victory.)
  3. She exemplifies grace. She’s a mother to three kids and wife to an idiot. She’s constantly challenged in this area. She can choose anger at any moment of the day, but always chooses to give grace. Always.
  4. She’s turned into a baseball mom. Not gonna lie, I love this. I’ve seen her playing catch with my son in the yard when I pull into the driveway from work. She understands the game of baseball….and she LIKES IT! That’s rare. Now, I know what you’re thinking; baseball mom’s can get crazy…so I’ve got to keep an eye on this over the next  few years 🙂
  5. She thinks I’m funny. My parents stopped finding me humorous when I was 7. My friends stopped thinking I was funny 4 days after our friendships began. But my wife, she still thinks I’m funny. Well, if she doesn’t, she’s phenomenal with courtesy laughs.
  6. Servant: It’s easy to be a servant when everyone is watching. It’s a whole different thing when you serve when the spotlight has long passed. That’s my wife. She serves our family, our neighbors and our friends like nobody I’ve ever seen. It’s a true picture of the servanthood of Christ himself. j
  7. She’s fun. I love spending time with her. I love doing ministry with her. I love raising our kids with her. It’s easy to love doing those things with someone when it’s fun to do it with them. It was even fun buying a minivan with her, and that’s saying a lot!
  8. She’s a fantastic listener. She always asks questions, and she truly wants to hear the answer. Friends call her when they have struggles, when they have news they want to share, etc.. Why? Because she’s a great listener.
  9. She’s beautiful. Plain and simple.
  10. She’s my best friend. Living life alongside your best friend is something you can’t put a price tag on and I’ve hit the jackpot.

A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life. – Proverbs 31:10-11

2 thoughts on “Ten Years And Counting

Leave a Reply

