books1

I’ll never forget the days where reading was something from a nightmare for me. I hated it. Despised it, actually. In fact, Cliff from Cliff’s Notes (if he’s really even a guy) was my hero. I loved him. I loved his vision and passion for helping idiots like myself in high school learn about books without ever actually reading them. But then, one day my freshmen year of college, it all changed. It was quite random, actually. I was sitting in the library during study hall hours when one of the guys on our baseball team had in his backpack a book that he stole from the high school he went to. The book? Night, by Elie Weisel. I was supposed to read that book when I was in high school, but I didn’t. I cliff notes’d that joker. This guy went on for twenty minutes about how great of a book it was and how much I was missing. So, I took his stolen copy of that book and read it. I was captivated. I was hooked. I ended up reading all three of the books in that trilogy my freshmen year. It was the most I had ever read.

I’m thankful for that encounter in study hall and how it helped change my mind about reading. I couldn’t imagine being a leader and not being well read. I have a long way to go, which is why I always set up for myself a reading plan for the year. Sometimes I venture outside of the reading plan, sometimes I don’t finish it, sometimes I do. So, all of that to say, here is the list of books from my reading plan that I read in 2014. Some of them were great, some of them were not so great. Enjoy!

BOOKS READ IN 2014.

Leave a Reply

