BLOG-Charles-Spurgeon-Seated

What drives our preaching in student ministry? Is it relevance? Is it to gain a platform? Is it to do such a good job that maybe the Senior Pastor will one day give us the nod to preach in front of the whole church? Or is it the fame of Christ through the saving of souls? I love Spurgeon, and I love what he says about preaching. Here are a few things he describes about his preaching that I would encourage all of us to take to heart today.

“I take my text and make a beeline for the cross.”

“I am content to live and die as the mere repeater of scriptural teaching, as a person who has thought out nothing and invented nothing, as one who never thought invention to be any part of his calling, but who concluded that he was simply to be a mouth for God to the people, mourning that anything of his own should come between.”

“I would rather be the means of saving a should from death than be the greatest orator on earth. I would rather bring the poorest woman in the world to the feet of Jesus than I would be made Archbishop of Canterbury. I would sooner pluck one single brand from the burning than explain all the mysteries. To win a would from going down into the pit, is a more glorious achievement than be be crowned in the arena of theological controversy…One of my happiest thoughts is that, when I die, it shall be my privilege to enter into the rest in the bosom of Christ, and I know that I shall not enjoy my Heaven alone. Thousands have already entered there, who have been drawn to Christ under my ministry. OH! what a bliss it will be to fly to heaven, and to have a multitude of converts before and behind.”

Leave a Reply

