15grrlf.jpg

  • “But when you see that Christ is the subject of all the Scriptures, that he is the Word, the Lord, the Son who reveals his Father, the promised Hope, the true Temple, the true Sacrifice, the great High Priest, the ultimate King, then you can read, not so much asking ‘What does this mean for me, right now?’ but ‘What do I learn here of Christ?’ Knowing that the Bible is about him and not about me means that, instead of reading the Bible obsessing about me, I can gaze on him. And as through the pages you get caught up in the wonder of his story, you find your heart strangely pounding for him in a way you never would have if you had treated the Bible as a book about you.” –Michael Reeves, Delighting in the Trinity, 82–83. (Pastor J.D. quoted this in his 2nd sermon of the “Start” series this past weekend. I highly recommend this book, by the way. One of my favorites from this past year) 

  • ” It’s not over when your losing terribly… its over when you quit.”  @sports_greats 
  • “A good character is the best tombstone. Those who loved you and were helped by you will remember you when forget-me-nots have withered. Carve your name on hearts, not on marble.” Charles Spurgeon
  • “Sam, I love your hustle. You’re doing things the right way out here on the ball field. Way to be a leader,” said coach. Sam exclaimed “Coach, it’s what I do. I do things right!!” That was my conversation with Sam, a 7 year old on my baseball team.
  • “Schedule time to dream” from @BCoop 
One thought on “Top 5 Favorite Quotes from My Weekend

Leave a Reply

