ncf_a_ndsign_cr_576

In 2002, I picked up my first book that I determined would help be become a better leader. The book was “Winning Everyday” by Lou Holtz. As a former athlete and a guy striving to become a leader, it was timely for me in many ways. I had a great respect for Coach Holtz for his passion for life, a desire to raise up men on and off the football field, and his intentionality in making everyone around him better. I’d love a chance to meet Coach Holtz and pick his brain over a meal before I die. In fact, I came within inches of him during a layover at LaGuardia just a couple of years ago. The only problem? He was literally standing at the urinal next to me in the mens restroom. Most men know that its not okay to have conversation with strangers at the urinal. I, however, proceeded to converse with him and MAY have followed him to his gate…(That in and of itself could be a chapter in a book at a later time.) I digress.

Over the past few months, I’ve been going back and looking through some of my notes that I wrote down as I read through some of those books that had an impact on me in various forms early on in my leadership. This is one that I thought was fantastic:

Your talent determines what you can do. Your motivation determines how much you are willing to do.Your attitude determines how well you do it. 

I can’t tell you how often I’ve needed that practical reminder as I lead others in my ministry. My attitude is the thermostat of the culture I set around me. Want to build a culture on your team that is constantly starving for unity? Be sarcastic. Want to build a culture on your team that crumbles at the first sign of adversity? Always have a glass half empty attitude. Want to build a culture on your team that seems defeated? Never celebrate the small victories.

Gospel Implications: I am reminded every day that my attitude overflows from my heart. When my heart disconnects from the gospel, my attitude of self-reliance creeps in. When my heart disconnects from the love of God towards me, my attitude towards others is not often very loving. My attitude has daily implications on the team that God has entrusted me to lead, therefore I will always strive to lead well by having the attitude of Christ. I want to serve others as He served me and love others as he has loved me. My attitude reflects my actions, which affects my leadership.

Philippians 2:5-11

 

Leave a Reply

