DWELLING BLOG

Dwelling Place: Where you make your residence. Your home. Your safe place. It’s where you find your strength and rest. It’s a place of identity, security, and worship.

The problem? For many of us, our dwelling place is in the success of ministry. We not only find our strength for the next day in the results from the previous weekend’s numbers, but we find very quickly that our identity is built off of that very thing. We find security in success…for a brief moment. And because our hearts are prone to the selfish desires of our flesh, we often find ourselves worshipping the harvest rather than the God of the harvest.

My prayer? That I myself would work diligently to see thousands of students reached with the gospel. I will work hard to disciple students to grow deeper in the gospel. I will work hard to see students baptized, to see our student ministry grow at The Summit Church, and that I will work hard to do everything with excellence…but that my dwelling place would never be in my successes (or failures) in ministry. I want to pursue the heart of God, and agree with the Psalmists;

  • “Blessed are those who dwell in your house; they are ever praising you!” – Ps. 84:4
  • “Blessed are those you choose and bring near to live in your courts! We are filled with the good things of your house, your holy temple!” Ps. 65:4
  • “One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.” Ps. 27:4

Let us dwell, let us feast, let us rest, let us seek, and let us worship in the house of God, not in our successes of ministry.

In the trenches with you,

Jason

Leave a Reply

